3 Counties Declared Drought Disaster Areas

Washington, DC – Three Wyoming counties are now considered drought disaster areas by the federal government. The same declarations could be on the way for a number of other counties in the state. Last week, the US Department of Agriculture declared 19 Nebraska counties as drought disaster areas. Bordering counties were covered by that declaration as well, so Laramie, Goshen, and Niobrara counties are also federal disaster areas. That means farmers and ranchers in that strip of eastern Wyoming are now eligible for low-interest emergency loans from the USDA's Farm Service Agency. What's more, an FSA spokesperson says nine other Wyoming counties are also being considered as potential disaster areas. That includes every northeastern county, except Crook. Elsewhere in the north, Washakie and Big Horn Counties are also seeking declarations. Uinta is the lone county in the western part of the state on the list. And the USDA is also weighing declarations for Platte and Converse Counties.