Johnson County Schools Recognized For Teacher Training

Jul 29, 2014

A Laramie-based education foundation that focuses on professional development for teachers has recognized Johnson County School District #1 for the number of teaching staff there who have earned National Board Certification.

Johnson County Library in Buffalo, Wyoming
Credit Simon Gibson via Flickr Creative Commons

National Board Certification is a voluntary and rigorous assessment program to develop and recognize accomplished teachers. The John P. Ellbogen Foundation awards Wyoming schools where at least 20 percent of staff earn the certifications. Johnson County One is the first district in Wyoming to achieve that in each one of its five schools.

Ellbogen Foundation president Mary Garland says more than $20,000 has been given to the schools in Johnson County. She hopes the distinction encourages others to follow suit.

“Teachers are the most important aspect for student learning," Garland said. "And so, In any way that the Ellbogen Foundation can support professional development that enhances teacher quality and leads to student achievement, that’s what we do.”

Just 11 Wyoming schools have earned the distinction. The Foundation hopes to see 25 Wyoming schools meet the criteria by 2017.