New Leaders Elected To Legislature

LARAMIE, wyo – The Republicans will have a huge majority in the legislature this year, with 76 of the 90 combined seats. This weekend, the GOP picked the speaker of the House and president of the Senate. The next speaker will be Ed Buchanan, from Torrington, who was first elected in 2002. The next Senate President is Jim Anderson from Glenrock. He's been in the legislature since 1997.
The Democrats will be led by Patrick Goggles in the House and John Hastert in the Senate. Because there are only four Democrats in the Senate, they will not have representation on every committee.
There will also be fresh faces among the committee chairs next session. Nine of the 20 committees will have new chairs. The youngest chair is Matt Teeters, from Lingle. He is 27 years old and will head the House Education Committee.