New Music for 2012

Nov 14, 2011

The year is starting off with a number of fine new music releases we're featuring on Morning Music

This One's For Him - A Tribute to Guy Clark  celebrating his  70th birthday.  Clark was born in Monahans, Texas on November 6, 1941.  

The tribute includes 30 tracks by 33 Americana artists including  Lyle Lovett, Rodney Crowell, Shawn Colvin, Roseanne Cash, James McMurtry, Jerry Jeff Walker, John Prine and Emmylou Harris.
Bonnie Raitt- Slipstream in stores April 10th.  Her first album in 7 years, this 9 time Grammy Award winner and Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee has returned with a stellar collection of songs interpreted as only Bonnie Raitt can. Mostly self-produced, with four tracks helmed by Joe Henry, the new album, Slipstream, is Raitt's first release on her own label, Redwing Records.

Bruce Springsteen- Wrecking Ball released March 6.  Marking his 17th studio album, 'Wrecking Ball' features 11 new Springsteen recordings and was produced by Ron Aniello with Bruce Springsteen and executive producer Jon Landau.

Chimes of Freedom: The Songs of Bob Dylan salutes Amnesty International's 50th Anniversary and life- saving human rights work.  75 newly recorded Bob Dylan songs by over 80 artists including Adele, Jackson Browne, Joan Baez, Michael Franti, Brett Dennen, Mariachi El Bronx, Mark Knopfler and Lucinda Williams.

More new music coming the week of Jan 30th including The Punch Brothers and Andrew Bird.