Voters Split on Tax Hikes

Laramie, Wy – Three counties in Wyoming approved sales tax increases during this week's general election.
Taxes were passed in Crook, Goshen and Washakie counties.
They paid for such projects as water and street improvements, new buildings and additions to existing ones.
However, similar tax proposals were defeated in Campbell, Natrona and Fremont counties.
Campbell County voters rejected a half-cent sales tax increase for a welding and diesel technology facility at the Gillette Campus of the Northern Wyoming Community College. It also would have gone toward a community center and street and water improvements in the small town of Wright.
In Natrona County, voters rejected a quarter-cent sales tax to fund a justice center. In Fremont County, voters defeated a tax to fund general government operations.