W-W Professor named as Nobel Prize member

Laramie, Wy – A University of Wyoming professor has been appointed as a lifetime member of the group that awards the Nobel Prize.
Professor Jason Shogren from the department of Economics and Finance was in Sweden when he ran into a top official of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.
Shogren: And he said, congratulations, and I said, for what?

The letter was sitting in his mailbox in Wyoming. It invited him to be a permanent member of the group that votes on the Nobel Prizes in physics, chemistry, literature and economics. Shogren says he has done a lot of work over the years in Sweden but he doesn't forget that he got his doctorate at U-W.

Shogren-Just goes to show you, where you find a Wyoming graduate, you just never know. I'm honored to be asked, I'm honored to participate, and I'm always thrilled at what Wyoming's given me.

It's not Shogren's first brush with the Nobel Prizes. He's a member of a group that shared the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize with former Vice President Al Gore.