WPR Wins Murrow Award

Laramie, Wy – The Radio-Television News Directors Association has announced that Wyoming Public Radio has won a regional Edward R. Murrow award for excellence in electronic journalism. Wyoming is in Region 3 with Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico and Utah.

The station received the Best Sports Reporting award for a story called Remember the 8 by Bob Beck. The story was broadcast in September and it looked at the five years since a deadly drunk driving crash killed eight University of Wyoming track athletes. Beck spoke with the driver Clint Haskins, former coaches and family members of the athletes, as they recalled the day of the crash. It also explored whether the incident has changed state attitudes about drinking.

RTNDA has been honoring outstanding achievement in electronic journalism with the Murrow Awards since 1971. Radio and television news managers from markets across the country judged the entries earlier this month.

Regional winners automatically become eligible for the national awards competition, which will be judged in early June. The national Edward R. Murrow Awards will be presented in October at the RTNDA Awards Dinner in New York.