Albany and Carbon County declared flood disaster areas

Aug 26, 2011

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated Albany and Carbon counties as natural disaster areas because of flooding. The designation from USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack on Friday provides emergency loans and compensation for farm income lost because of a natural disaster.
 Farmers and ranchers in the surrounding counties of Converse,
Fremont, Laramie, Natrona, Platte and Sweetwater also qualify for
USDA assistance because they are next to Albany and Carbon counties. Big Horn County also is seeking a disaster designation from USDA.
     State officials say total agriculture damage in Wyoming won't be known until crops are harvested.
     Flooding this spring and summer from record snowpack and rain has caused millions of dollars in damage to farms, roads and
bridges. At least eight people have died in high-water incidents
around the state.